Vegan After 40 – What is Vegan Milk?

Plant milk is a plant beverage with a color resembling that of milk. Plant milks are non-dairy beverages made from a water-based plant extract for flavoring and aroma. Plant milks are consumed as plant-based alternatives to dairy milk, and often provide a creamy mouthfeel. More than 17 plants are used to manufacture plant milk, almond, oat, soy, and coconut were the highest-selling plant milks worldwide.

Plant-based beverages have been consumed for centuries, with the term “milk-like plant juices” used since the 13th century. Today they are frequently referred to as plant-based milk, alternative milk, non-dairy milk or vegan milk. For commerce, plant-based beverages are typically packaged in containers similar and competitive to those used for dairy milk, but cannot be labeled as “milk” within the European Union.

There is a variety of plant milk to choose from including:

Soy Milk. Perhaps the most widely available vegan milk, soy milk is packed with protein—at least seven grams per cup.
Rice Milk. Light and refreshing, rice milk is a great alternative for those avoiding soy or nuts. ...
Cashew Milk. 
Oat Milk. 
Flax Milk. 
Pea Milk.

Across various cultures, plant milk has been both a traditional beverage and a flavourful ingredient in sweet and savory dishes, such as the use of coconut milk in curries. They are beverages that are compatible with vegetarian and are vegan lifestyles. Plant milks are also used to make “ice cream”, plant cream, vegan cheese, and “yogurt”, such as soy yogurt or vegurt. In 2021 the global plant milk market was estimated to reach US$62 billion by 2030.